top of page
NCJW page header (5).png

Hannah G. Solomon Awards

The Hannah G. Solomon Award is presented by NCJW to an individual in our community who has helped to change and expand the role of others in vital areas of community life, and whose leadership in areas of NCJW concern — improving the quality of life for women, children, and families — has motivated others to fight for change, and has resulted in progress and enlightenment in the community.


2023     Dawn Haldane

2022     Dale C. Strok

2021     Sylvia Manheim

2020     Congressman Alan S. Lowenthal

2019     Kathryn Miles

2018     Dr. Jane Conoley and Ann Millman

2017     Dr. Linda C. Fox

2016     Linda Calderón* and Judith Leff

2015     Barbara Alpert*

2014     All Previous Recipients

2013     Jean Feldman

2012     Arline Hillinger

2011     Jeanne Halliday

2010     Dr. Christopher Steinhauser

2009     Renee Simon

2007     Harriette Ellis

2006     Laura Orloff*

2005     Barbara Wolfe

2004     Lorene Bearson*

2003     Rabbi Wolli Kaelter*

2002     Binnie and Jack Berro

2001     Nancy Speizer*

2000     Dorothy Samuel*

1999     Harriet Rothenberg*

1998     Romola Temkin*

1997     Janice* and Hy Sunshine*

1996     Corrine* and Ted Van Boemel

1995     Jo Slobodkin*

1994     Ruth Britton*

1993     Sally Schaner* and Eugene Lentzner*

1992     Jill Rosenberg and Dorothy Baker

1991     Eugene Schlesinger*

1990     M/ Karel Spak*

1989     Sylvia Coonen*

1988     Sheila Pokras

1986     Martha Posalski* and Dr. James Linden

1985     Dr. Beverly O’Neill

1984     Maycie Harrington*

1983     Barbara Shoag

1982     Elinor Baratelle*

1981     Minna Weiss*

1980     Lauraine Barber

1979     Perle Chudnow* and Bonnie Krasner*

1978     Blanch Collins*

1977     Lillian* and Revan Komaroff*

1976     Edna Statman*

1975     Sylvia Strum*

1974     Shirley Stein*

1973     Dr. Eugene M. Blumberg*

1972     Cora Cocks*

1971     Arlene Solomon*

1970     Alvin Resnik*

1969     Lois Wright*

1968     Ruth Todd*

*Of Blessed Memory

bottom of page